Hello, so I am training this two year old Paint mare, Rock N Racheal, she is a very smart young mare. The only problem I have had so far with her is that she has become mean, specifically towards me, I think it might be because I am the one riding her and working her and she just doesn't want to do it. I am not oppossed to taking a break in her training if it will help her get out of this attitude. She was always sweet and the first one up to the gate when I first got her. I'm not completely sure what changed her personality so completely. If you have any ideas or know of any ways to solve this problem I would be very greatful if you would leave a comment! Thanks so much, Jena
Rebecca
1/17/2013 11:13:01 am

Jena...I do not think it has to do with your work program. It is probably because your two year old has become a mare. I suspect hormones might actually be in play with your mare, but I would advise you to seek out chiropratic, make sure your saddle still fits her growing body, in short, eliminate all physical reasons before you assume she just is getting mad at you. There are some wonderful herbal mare products out there if that is her problem. I use easy mare myself, but there are others.

Reply
Brooke
4/5/2018 09:10:34 am

Wondering if you still have boarding available?

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Jena

    I am the main author of this site but there are three human members of Pahma Ranch, me, my mom, and my dad. We all love and care for our animals the best way possible! We keep a good home for our animals, which takes a lot of work (Thanks Dad).  We will continue to have a healthy enviroment for all our horses and those that board with us!

    Archives

    December 2012

    Categories

    All